What's the point of keeping a nano tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

weekf

Aquarium Advice Freak
Mannnn... advice to all new beginners here. WARNING!!! Don't get a nano tank and get at least a 55g instead.

I mean... this hobby is addicting. I started out 1 year ago with a 4.5g Two months down the track I couldn't stand on the size and set up another 20g high. Then 6 months down the track I, again couldn't stand on the size and finally got a 132g 6 footer. Upgrading like this cost lots of $$$. You will need to keep upgrading your gear and stuffs too not just the tank alone.

So my advice is: Get a bigger tank as you could possibly afford. That will save you some $$$.

The reason I started a nano tank 1 year ago? Was because I was worried that since I have got no experience in aquarium prior to that at all hence was just experimenting. I have got no dramas at all keeping the 4.5g (and tank with that size is extremely hard to keep) therefore it just boast my confidence and decided to upgrade.

IMO, most nano tank owners already have bigger tanks :) Once you have one you want more.

We keep trying to tell them but they wont listen. I`ve always said IMO always start with at least a 55 gallon tank. Then go with a nano if you want. The bigger the better.

Problem with a 55 is that some of us actually don't have the money for it....I have a 10 gallon FOWLR and that's all I'm gonna have for a while, since I'm in grad school and barely have enough money to scrape by. I do agree that a larger tank is easier to balance and offers more choices for livestock but I'd rather have my 10 gallon than nothing! No way I could have afforded the lights, equipment and LR for a 55 gallon.

BTW I'm a newbie to SW but not to freshwater, and am also a biologist and nutrient chemist.....so for a "real" newbie I also agree a bigger tank is better.