whats up guys and girls need a little help.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mbaker82

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hi i have been in the trade for about 2 years and i am still no pro. major props to those who are running this form.
my question is i have a 55 gallon sw tank with about 35 # of live rock and about 20 hermits and 20 snails 3 sand sifting sea stars 2 red 1 tiger striped. 1 dory, 1 nemo, 2 yellow tail damsels
i have not been good at qt fish . i always seem to kill them . i have better luck putting them right in. my 2 damsels have been with me for about 1 year, dorrie about 3 months or so., nemo about 1 week. well now i got a major problem dorrie gulps for air and rubs a whole bunch i know she
has whites spots all over her i have so many books but none seem to help me. i know if i put her in a qt tank. i put copper in it . but i have no idea how much. i have copper and test kits so thats covered. but as for whats in my tank how do i kill the parasites with out harming other fish and inverts.

also i have a 25 watt uv ster. and a wet dry set up rated for 100 gallon.
on the back of my tank i have a hang on filter for mach. filt. wet dry just dont do a good job on getting outfish poop
so if any one can help i would be sooo sooo great full.
i have spent so much on these fish i really dont want to loose them.
thanks
michael

The only way to beat C. irritans is by removing all the fish and treating them simultaniously even if you see no sign of the parasite. The display tank should then be left fallow for 6-8 weeks. Only by breaking the life cycle of the parasite will you be rid of it permanently. That is, if you properly QT all future additions for a minimum of 4 weeks.

What is the current copper level and what type of copper was used?