Whats wrong with my hammer?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nu-Nu the eel

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey guys, i woke up this morning and saw my hammer coral looking very inverted. Dang. Salinity is .024 and tge levels have always been 000 on this tank. I havent tested yet but i will soon. Will it die?

Looks the way mine did before it kicked the bucket. How is the lighting/flow and how long has it been in the tank?

Really? Dang :( it has been here for at least a month or so and it has ALWAYS done great. What the heck..

Nothing changed? I would do a comprehensive test just to be sure.

I think you were in on my thread with mine - it turned out to be light (too much). You also know I am new to SW so I don't have much else to go on... I do know that if there is still green in there, then it can recover.

Yup im annoyed.. Salininity is .022 or .023, hard to pick. Just did the nitrate test i will tell you the results. Nothing has changed since i put him there 1 1/2 months ago. He has a few tentacles sticking out so hopefully he is ok

Where do you have it in the tank? I have all mine about mid way in the tank with a med flow on them. They would be about 12-14 inches away from the light in my tank.

Unfortunately- once a head goes- that's it. Linda like a wall hammer- usually when the skeleton starts showing that's it for the coral.

Jlsardina said:
Where do you have it in the tank? I have all mine about mid way in the tank with a med flow on them. They would be about 12-14 inches away from the light in my tank.

Unfortunately- once a head goes- that's it. Linda like a wall hammer- usually when the skeleton starts showing that's it for the coral.

So you think its a goner? It was perfect yesterday:'( we will do a pwc today and raise the saninity