When to change my bulbs?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rustedscrapmetal

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello! I have had aquariums since I was a little girl. I currently have four tanks in my house, two nano, one ten gallon, and my crown jewel, a 55 gallon planted freshwater tropical community tank. I have had it running, plants and all, for a year and a half now, with no problems.

I house only low to mid light plants, as I am a beginner when it comes to plant keeping. I use liquid ferts, liquid CO2, and a root tab under each plant. For a while my plants thrived. I'd have to frequently thin them down, as they'd sprout out newer, smaller plants from their roots at random areas around them.

They are still doing well, but they are not sprouting new growths, plus they are not as bushy as they used to be. Could it be my lighting?

I have not changed my bulbs since I got them. They are on a timer for 10 hours a day. I have two T5HO bulbs, one giving light more in the res spectrum, the other more in the blue. They are specifically for plant growth and natural bright daylight. The hood has a mirror behind to reflect all light into the tank. I have noticed that on both bulbs have a slight gray ring on both ends, an inch in length.

I looked on other forums, and heard two things. One was that you do not need to replace the bulbs until they blow or fade out on their own. This theory was that any plant will get used to the slow degradation of light. Another was to replace any T5 HO once a year.

I am stumped over which idea to follow. My plants are not as full as they used to be. They still grow new leaves, but not as frequently. Also, some older leaves are yellowing, which I never had a problem with before.

What's the true answer on this? To replace regularly, or not to replace?

Hello rusted...