When will my guppy give birth?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Leighcampbell

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi guys!
Hoping somebody may be able to help me with how soon I might be able to expect my pregnant guppy to give birth?
I got her about a week ago already pregnant and this is my first time breeding.
Last night I noticed her withdrawing and hiding a bit so placed her in the breeding box. I have read a few things about how this may stress them out however I have a male who won’t leave her alone so would prefer to separate her for her own comfort - she doesn’t appear to be stressing in the box at all.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated! For your info tank is cycled, nitrites and ammonia very low and nitrate in the safe zone.
Thanks in advance :)

Attachments

• C8A83F67-D7A9-4B3F-A5CC-237EAD689295.jpg
    C8A83F67-D7A9-4B3F-A5CC-237EAD689295.jpg
    182.3 KB · Views: 58
  • 68754D45-2343-4C3F-B5A9-C56532A47A28.jpg
    68754D45-2343-4C3F-B5A9-C56532A47A28.jpg
    183.8 KB · Views: 308
Hey Autumnsky
Thanks for your reply and info! I have taken her out of the box and will monitor if the male harasses her, if so I’ll place him in the box.
I want to try and keep as many fry as possible and have some plants but also have some neon tetras and fear they will eat the fry if birthing in the main tank.
The tank is about 1.5 months old and I’ve been following the cycling process with regular water changes and levels have been kept pretty healthy.
Any idea how far along my pregnant female might be?
Thanks again!

Can't quite tell, I believe it is around 28 days for birth. If you look from the top of the tank, I would expect to see a bit of a squared body, also referred to being "squared off". Then it is within few days. She would usually look square and glossy/shiny
and some bulges like she's gonna pop.