White "film" on bubble counter/CO2 indicator

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fort384

Dividing by 0
Site Team
I have recently (14 days ago) started a freshwater planted tank. Everything was going fine until yesterday. Water clarity started going down hill, and a white film has started to develop on my in-tank C02 indicator, and the bubble counter for my C02 generator (the yeast/sodium bicarb/sugar variety).

My tank is planted fairly heavily, and I have started using flourish tablets in the substrate, along with a liquid iron supplement. I also have first layer pure laterite mixed in with my medium/small gravel substrate.

Admittedly, I think I got a little too aggressive with the fish a little early. I am new to the hobby and may have gotten over-anxious/eager. I have 10 very small neon tetras, 4 serpae tetras, and 2 zebra loaches. I lost a few neons early on, but it has been a few days with no more loss, and I chocked that up to the aquarium cycling.

I have been testing my water chemistry on a fairly regular basis in conjunction with water changes - tests have revealed hard water (300 GH and 220 KH), coupled with high pH (7.8-8.0). Nitrate levels have remained fairly steady at around 15-20ppm, nitrite levels have remained low, between 1-2 ppm, and my ammonia readings have been between 0-0.5 ppm. No phosphates have shown up. CO2 levels are indicating ideal according to the in-tank indicator.

Since setting up the aquarium, I have performed 10% water changes every 3 days, which seems to be consistent with a lot of advice out there for new/cycling aquariums.

I have an in-tank heater, and the temp has been fairly stable at 79-80 degrees F.

I have a single tube fluorescent light, set on a timer to be on 12 hrs per day. The tank gets no direct sunlight.