Whos plant is it anyway?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EMS Chris

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I'm really new at this. I just set up a 10 gallon planted tank this week. I have 4 red tail minnows ( that is the description not the actual names) I just know the guy said they are really hard to kill. I used 20 lbs of the bio complete and 10 gallons of water from another tanks water change. Should I have waited for the tank to cycle before adding the plants? Also they need a heater like the fish? Thanks!!
Chris

Awesome. Can you give them too much light? I've been keeping it on like 16 hours a day.

yes you can, plants need at least 8 hours of total darkness to complete photosynthesis, also having the lights on that long will just cause algae to grow, id recommend only 6-10 hours depending on plant needs.

Awesome. Can you give them too much light? I've been keeping it on like 16 hours a day.

I would be more concerned about algae growth. The usual amount of light per day is generally 6-8 hours per day. Of course that depends on the plants, the type of light, fertilization routine, CO2, etc.

you should try to raise the water level so you have less filter splash, all that extra surface agitation will remove Co2 from the aquarium.

yes you can, plants need at least 8 hours of total darkness to complete photosynthesis, also having the lights on that long will just cause algae to grow, id recommend only 6-10 hours depending on plant needs.

Thats not exactly true, you can leave light on 24/7 if you wanted, plants will just stop using it after about 8hrs and then algae will be the only one using it. People doing DSM(dry start method) dont always turn the light off but thats because they dont have to deal with algae