Will an all-male aquarium be a problem?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

amit.rajaram

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,

I am new to the fish habit and have just finished cycling my 36g bowfront with 4 guppies and 2 platys. I did not want to have to deal with breeding and fry's so all my fish are male. I'm also planning on adding a male swordtail and a male sailfin molly soon. I just wanted to check if there was a potential problem with a tank having only males. Are there any species where you can mix males and females, but the females could not breed in normal freshwater conditions? If so, I could get some females in the tank too without having to worry about my kids seeing adult fish eating the baby fish.

Also, any thoughts on good tank mates for guppies and platys, that are not live bearers and make good display fish?

Thanks in advance!

Keeping all males can be hit or miss, but is doable. The key to success is to have a larger number of the same species so the territorial aggression is spread out across all the members rather than focused on one or two weaker ones. It also helps to re-home any bullies that emerge and decorate the tank with lots of hiding holes and broken lines of sight.

Live bearers (guppies/swords/mollies/platies) are some of the most prolific fish in the aquarium world. Most fish will take a little more effort to have babies (require conditioning with live/frozen food & spawning triggers like frequent water changes, temperature swings, etc) and are safe to have both sexes without risking fry. There's a lot of compatible tank mates that don't usually breed by accident. Tetras, barbs, rasboras, rainbows, cories, loaches, the list goes on. Just research them before you buy to make sure they're compatible.