Yeti's 55gal FW Journal (Pix and Flix)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Yeti

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ill post my complete progress etc here, and plan to stay dedicated to it. If any of you want to leave some feedback, comments whatever, please do! remember I'm still a Noob!

Sunday April 1st, 2007
All equipment currently setup and running.
55gal long with cast Iron stand
- Whisper Heater
- Whisper 60 filter
- AquaCulture Dual Air Pump with 2 pressure check valves
- Some crappy light on top, no hood or cover (need to make one or fork out $120)
- Gravel
- Some Plants and Decor (more still on order!)
-Roman Background

I Have started my actual water cycle, I tossed in 2 raw uncooked/unseasoned shrimp into a ziplock with holes punched in it, I cranked the heat up and turned the lights off.

Current Water Conditions:
Code:
Temp: 85-86F
NO3: somewhere between 0-20
NO2: 0-.5
GH: 300
KH: 120-180
pH: somewhere between 7.0-8.4
NH3: (unknown, I need a tester still!)

so far it looks like:
img_792413_0_2aaeea22d66a5dcf091427e1d1d7d603.jpg

Since your cycling you dont have much to worry about but when you get fish you need to get rid of the "somewhere between" and get a real reading.

Tuesday April 3rd, 2007
The raw shrimp is starting to fall apart and decompose! this is a good thing. The water is looking cloudy now as well.

Current Water Conditions:
Code:
Temp: 85F
NO3: 
NO2: 
GH: 150
KH: 200
pH: somewhere between 7.6-8.4
NH3: (unknown, I need a tester still!)

More to come!

Wednesday April 4th, 2007