Advice on feeding

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HB87

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi. This is my first post here and I'm not sure if this is where it should go? My apologies if it isnt.

I am relatively new to aquariums. I grew up around them but never knew the full extent of what went into maintaining one. I have a Red Devil. I've had him/her about 2 monthes. I didnt really look into or research much until recently (stupid I know but i'm new to this) I have him in a temp tank while i'm saving for a larger tank which I will have soon. I've been feeding him pellets and he had no problems eating them until 3 days ago. He just lets them sink and I have to clean them out. I read he eats other things besides just pellets and i'm wondering if I need to adjust his diet to get him to eat? And if so what do I need to be feeding him?

I know that these are basic things I should have researched sooner but I went by what the pet store said and assumed they knew their stuff. Any advice would be helpful. I'm really starting to worry..

Thanks all

Cehck your water parameters (ammonia and nitrite) a LFS will do this for you. did you cycle your tank? My first guess is the tank isn't cycled and he's having issues with high ammonia. If so, do massive water changes every day till the tank is cycled.

Actually, for a fish like a RD, 50-80% water changes a week (with dechlorinator, gravel vacuuming and rinsing the filter media in old tank water and re-using it) are not out of the question and keep them happy. What kind of pellets are you feeding him? What size tank? How long is the fish? What kind of filter(s) are you using? What's the tank temperature?