Safely increasing pH

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CraigMac

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have african cichlids and am just upgrading to an fx5 filter. I thought when I set it up I will use one basket for crushed coral to raise the pH. I have zero experience with raising pH so I have a bunch of questions.

Will this be enough to increase the pH in a 90 gallon tank? Will it gradually increase pH or be dramatic? Do I have to periodically change out the crushed coral, does it "expire" or "go bad"?

Anything else I need to know or any advice?

Thanks!!

I don't have and have never had cichlids, but my initial question would be... what's your pH now? What is the pH of the tapwater?

It's possible you don't need to alter the pH at all.

A stable pH even if outside the range a particular fish prefers is often better than a pH that fluctuates.

Good luck!

RussellC said:
I don't have and have never had cichlids, but my initial question would be... what's your pH now? What is the pH of the tapwater?

It's possible you don't need to alter the pH at all.

A stable pH even if outside the range a particular fish prefers is often better than a pH that fluctuates.

Good luck!

+1 unless dealing with wild caughts or young from wild caught then more then likely they have been kept in a lower PH then there native lakes from birth so keeping it stable is the most important thing

That's my debate. My ph is stable, at 7.4. So, they are ok and would be ok keeping it there. However, if I could safely raise it and keep it stable then I'd like to keep it more where it should be for African cichlids. That's why I want to ask a lot of questions first. If I add crushed coral to my filter, will it raise it and keep it steady or will it raise but then gradually lower until coral is replaced?

Just researching for now, I may end up keeping it as is.