Bio Cube 14 Gal Plan

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FriscoTX

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm a noob to reefs, so I could use some criticism. Anything you would change or add?

Filtration:
1st compartment: removing the stock filter and replacing w/ a mesh bag of Purigen
2nd compartment: removing the bio balls and replacing with LR rubble
3rd compartment: keeping the stock powerhead and adding 50w heater (cheapo from Walmart)

Substrate: 7 lbs of LS from an established aquarium
Reef: 21 pounds of mix Tonga-Fusion, Fiji rock

I'll attack the plan of fish and all that later, right now I just want to get to where the tank is cycling.

Phase 1 - filled the tank w/ tap water and letting it run for 2 days. Mixing salt water tonight and letting it sit till tomorrow night and will ad it to the tank tomorrow night.

Sounds goood to me. Are you going to be using tap water or RO water? If you are going to use tap, there is no reason why you can't mix the salt with the water that is already in the tank. Would save you a lot of work anyways.

Only other thing I would do personally is add more sand. Gives your rocks a little more cushion to sit on and a little bit thicker sandbed. Again, only my personal opinion. I'd add about 10 more pounds of sand and make around a 2 inch thick sand bed. You can add dry aragonite sand on the bottom and the livesand on the top, which will make the bottom sand live over time.

Can't wait to see pictures :)

I went the cheap route w/ Distilled water - I'll take that sand thing into consideration, I was going for about 1 inch of substrate.