first sw tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BoarderX47

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey guys, first off this is my first post I have been looking around the forum and it seems like I will be able to get great help. I have a 10 gallon tank just sitting around in my room and I figured why not make it a sw tank. I was talking to the guys at aquarium adventure (store by me) and they said that that size was fine for a first one to get started with. I do not plan on going any bigger just cause I do not have the money. Most of the my money has gone into my 30gallon fw. I was wondering what all I need to get the tank started. Chemicals, do I need a certain filter for sw? I was also told that live rock would be good for the tank. What is live rock? I'm new to sw so I don't have a clue. Also thinking about a black or white sand. Which lighting will be the best for live rock? Which fish will be good the get started with? I am thinking about only 2 or 3 fish and maybe a shrimp or sea star. How much should I be expecting to spend on all of this? Thanks for the help guys.

You can do the 10 gallon tank but you have to remember that the smaller the tank the less forgiving it will be should a problem come up. It can work but you will need to be dilligent. The only filtration I have ever used is LR and a skimmer. As a matter of fact I`m going to move this to the nano forum and they will give you plenty of answers. Good Luck on your quest.

sw tanks can be real expenisve. basically its the upfront costs of setup that get ya. like mel said, you will have to be dilligent with the maintenence, but it can be done.