ANEMONE shrivled up??!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bonez

Aquarium Advice Regular
I just bought a green carpet anemone about 2 days ago, I fed it, it ate...fast - like it was hungy...is it normal for them to shrivel up to nearly nothing a day or two after feeding? if so , why? :x I'm concerned.

WaterPond said:
how about some tank specs and water test readings.

Everytime I post here, no offense, it is under assumption every water parameter is perfect, which it is at the time of this post. That was the first thing I did after I noticed what was happening. I do PWC every week religeously - ample lighting - flawless water conditions. Just curious about the anemones behavior, it may be perfectly normal, im new to owning an anemone. It is in a 40g tank with 10 gal sump. 2 clowns. prestine water.

Some questions-
How long did you acclimate it? How long has your tank been setup? What lights do you have?

It's probably just shriveled up because you fed it. Since there's one way in and out, anemones will shrivel up from time to time to expell wastes, some will shrivel up 2 or 3 times a week and others will shrivel up once every two weeks just depends. If it's not fully expanded in a day then I'd be worried. But that's something you should of read about when you were researching before buying, especially something hard to keep like a carpet anemone.

Lance M. said:
Some questions-
How long did you acclimate it? How long has your tank been setup? What lights do you have?