cyano but not sure? Help for a newbie.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KevyMv

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just set up my ninety gallon last week. I bought it used and took more then half of its water with it along with all the live rock. I'm noticing some red algae that is covering the snails and the live rock. I have shrimp, clown fish, koran angel, couple snails, and a star fish and one hermit crab. I know in the beginning I was overfeeding and now have cut down. Also I have cut down on the lighting is their anything else I can do. Also should I try to remove this stuff manually. I'm a newbie so to be to harsh.....

A pic sure would help. Your description does sound like cycno. Is it a deep red color? Cutting back on the feedings is a great place to start. Hold off to light feedings every other day. If you are feeding frozen food make sure you thaw it first and rinse it in RO/DI water. Cyno bacteria is mainly caused by excess nutrients in the water, PO4 is the main contributor. I would get a PO4 test kit and test both your tank water and your source water for it. Make sure you are doing water changes and top-offs with water that is free of PO4. Think about adding some more flow to your tank. How amny powerheads do you currently have? As far as the cyno you currently have, carefully siphon it out on a regualr basis.

thanx

I will get a phosphate test kit today. I just found a throw away camera so i can put some pictures on this afternoon. I have done 2 water changes in the last week but only 5 gallon each time. The water is testing good as for alkalintiy, ph, nitrates, nitrites, and amonia. thanx

How old are your lights? I've been told when they get old the bulbs will emit the wrong spectrum and promote that algae. What I've done to get rid of mine is change bulbs and medicate. Seems to work... for me anyway.