Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-18-2017, 12:05 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
need help or info

I just started my first 29 gallon saltwater tank four days ago and did my first test, ph ,amonnia and nitrate three are perfect but my nitrate 2 is to the roof high as can be what do I need to do to my tank to bring it down I just put in my live rock yesterday
__________________

__________________
garza875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 01:20 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
Typically, you need to do water changes to get nitrate out of the system until you have nitrate controlling microorganisms.

1- Where did you get your rock from? Was it kept wet?
2 - What was your source of water? Tap, RO/DI, Store bought?
If you're using tap water, do a nitrate test on the water straight out of the tap.
3 - Do you have any livestock in the tank?
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 03:11 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
Answer

1 the wet live rock was purchased at a reputable dealer the
Water was tap will be testing pure water tomorrow no fish just live rock sand and crushed coral is all that i have inside
__________________
garza875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 07:27 AM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,968
Live rock won't process nitrates. The bacteria that is built up during the cycling process processes ammonia and nitrites. Nitrates are processed via water changes or exported in methods like algae growth or water changes.
If this is a fresh system, the nitrates had to come in from somewhere. If you aren't using ro/di water, I would suggest doing so as the water source is most likely where the nitrates are coming from at this stage of the game.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 06:21 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bdonaldson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: White Plains, Maryland
Posts: 2,450
I Second what Sniper said. Tap water is not a good source for a saltwater tank. Need to get a RODI unit to produce pure water for your tank. Hope everything turns out ok for you.
__________________
Bdonaldson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!! need info on meds and affects uwmaniac Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 7 11-08-2007 08:45 AM
Any info on these bulbs? (nevermind finally found info) PITT Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 01-08-2007 11:05 PM
110g New tank need Lighting help/Info Lookout888 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-01-2006 08:37 PM
LOOK What are these things on the live rock. info info... Brenden Saltwater & Reef - Identification 5 08-24-2005 10:19 PM
Bought Tank with CORALS - Need ID and Care info HELP - PICS mikebranson Saltwater & Reef - Identification 14 07-07-2005 02:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.