Water changes help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vpadfsu

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
im a noob. I just setup a 10gallon salt water tank. Yes i know 10 gallon is a bad idea but i have no choice. I go to school in the caribbeans and i have one last semester and this is all i could find down here. I brought mineral salt mix from home, aqua clear 30 filter, and no protein skimmer. All stuff that goes in my tank is from what i go find myself.
~Week 1 i added water (bottle water) and about 4lbs of live rock let it cycle for week.
~Week 2 i added sand from bottom of ocean near the reef.
~Week 3 i added star fish(spiked orange-red), purple fan coral, Fan worm, small fish(either a tang, butterfly, damsel)
~Week 4 i added coral hermit crabs (4), bartholomea annulata, fish(no idea what it is but it changes colors from silver to silver with green to silver with yellow depending on what hes doing..eating...attacking hermit crab...)

Now the big question: (I have no syphon, just fan the sand floor time to time)
How ofter do i do water changes?
How much water do i sub out in each water change?

Attachments

• fishtank2.jpg
    fishtank2.jpg
    72.9 KB · Views: 120
  • fishtank.jpg
    fishtank.jpg
    71 KB · Views: 105
These are my personal acessments about your thread.
1) How was you able to cycle your tank in a week? What let you know it was cycled?
2) A starfish needs a very mature and stable tank which usually takes about 6 to 8 months, longer for a starfish that size. Starfish go around the tank feeding on microbes. That size star needs to be in a much much larger tank.
3) If you do have a tang or a butterfly fish any research at all would have let you know that it can not be in a 10 gallon tank.