Adding Rainbowfish to Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jlbfish

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have a 75 gallon aquarium. It is stocked with
10 Red Eye Tetras
9 Flame Tetras
7 Peppered Cories
4 False Julii Cories
3 Bosemani Rainbowfish (I believe 1 female and 2 males)
1 Australian Rainbowfish (I believe male)

I want more Australian Rainbows but want to make sure I build schools of them the right way. Any advice as to what I should get to keep them balanced?

Thanks!
Jana

I'm new to sexing fish but this is what I have. I assume the one w/out yellow is the female. They may still be young not sure.

Attachments

• image-298137106.jpg
    image-298137106.jpg
    166.1 KB · Views: 79
  • image-1330482099.jpg
    image-1330482099.jpg
    112 KB · Views: 91
  • image-3285426555.jpg
    image-3285426555.jpg
    161.6 KB · Views: 92
Thanks! That's what I was thinking. So basically I need 3-5 more Bosemani females and 2 Austrailian females.

Think my stock can handle 5-7 more fish?

The stock list is on my original post the tank has an eheim 2217 (normally has a 2073).

I'd say you'd be okay but would be best if you could put the bigger filter back on. Adding the females would put you full up.

Would the 2073 be able to handle that?

I don't min trying 1 female per male and see how it works first. Wonder if the LFS will swap some out. These are from Petsmart.

So now for my Austrailian Male or Female?

My vote is Male.

Attachments

• image-1586102640.jpg
    image-1586102640.jpg
    128.8 KB · Views: 77
Don't ask me for sexing on Rainbows, I've only keep a few over the years. The reason for keeping 2-3 females per male is so the females get some rest since the males attention is more spread out between females. Females can get harassed to death if they can't escape the attention of males constantly hounding them.