Betta and feeding?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mishyc

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have just got a Betta fish and was wondering if he can eat what my cardinal and neons eat? I only feed them micro pellets, can I feed the Betta on just these or do I need Betta specific food for him? IMG_1879.jpgIMG_1882.jpg

Mishy i did feed hikari micro pellets to my betta and he loved it. Its easy to eat for betta. How nutritious it is for a betta is i don't know but i do know betta readily accepts and love. I am not a betta expert but if you are just a casual betta lover then of course this food is ok for betta. Otherwise you need betta only foods. I never bought any betta only foods for my betta. You can However give him stuff like bloodworms or other meaty food as well like twice a week to compensate. Good luck.

At what temperature you keeping your cardinals in? Can they sustain high temperatures?

They are at 25 oC in the book I have on tropical fish, it says the betta and tetras are ok at that degree? In summer the tank got to 27/28 oC on very hot days and had no adverse effect on them

They are at 25 oC in the book I have on tropical fish, it says the betta and tetras are ok at that degree? In summer the tank got to 27/28 oC on very hot days and had no adverse effect on them
Thanks a lot dear. I unfortunately always have a hard time keeping cardinals or neons. I do have them but initially a few dies before settling in. Like if i put seven i ll end up having six and like this. I even drip acclimate them. Don't know what's wrong. I don't have any problems with any other fish even the delicate ones like German and electric blue rams.