Black Ghost Knifefish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

briandoran

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi folks,

I'm new to fishkeeping.

My tank set up is: (new and only a few fish so far)

120 litres (not sure in gallons)
2 Sailfin Mollies (1 male, 1 female)
4 Guppies
3 Blue Coral Platies

and over the weekend I bought a Black Ghost Knifefish. I didn't know (wasn't informed) that it would grow so big! Can grow to 18"!!

So my main question is? Are my other fish at risk from this BGK or will they be alright? Also, is my tank too small for this guy?

Thanks for any info ...

Brian

i had a BGK in my 30 gallon it was fine it is blind so it needs a good place to hide where it can feel around its body. i had a plastic pvc tube . and depending on the size tank your fish will grow toits surroundings. no worries

I had a BGK in my 30 gallon it was fine it is blind so it needs a good place to hide where it can feel around its body. i had a plastic pvc tube . and depending on the size tank your fish will grow toits surroundings. no worries

This is not true...It might "grow" to its surroundings in a very mutated way. A smaller tank might cause the fish to become deformed if it doesn't have the space it needs to be full grown. A black goust knife fish in aquarium don't normally get larger than 18" however in wild can grow as big as 24" a black goust can live in a 4ft by 1ft aquarium until it reaches 1ft in length then it is best to move it to a much larger aquarium so it has room to strech across the width of the tank at least. So the aquarium should be at least 4ft by 1'6".

If you can't accomidate the fish's needs my suggestion would be to see if you can find an aquarium society or club and give it away once it has out grown your aquarium, or see if you can return it back from the fish store.