Black Ghost Knifefish parameters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pranicmegan

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a new Black Ghost Knifefish ... had it for 2 weeks so far and so far so good.
He eats well (only live Blackworms though) and seems to have settled in really well.
My question relates to water parameters ... I can't find any info online about what are the best conditions to keep a BGK in.
I have put him in my ph neutral tank, with softish water ... rather than the alkaline African tank with the hard water.
What is their best ph range? Hard or Soft water?
My filters are all cycled and ammonia and nitrates/nitrites are 0.

I want to find out BEFORE I run into any problems with him. Just because he looks good NOW doesnt mean he IS.

I am new at this .... what should Nitrates and Nitrites read? I might be doing it wrong OR my equipment (2nd hand) might be 'off' if this is possible ....
SO ... what would be the best kit to buy to PROPERLY test Nitrates and also Nitrites?

The Tank is definitely cycled ... its 4 months old.... I did 25% water changes bi-weekly at first because I did not know how to use the testing equipment and was worried about ammonia... lol maybe I still dont know how to use em. shoot.
Now I just do 25% weekly changes
I still dont know how to test properly methinks.
Any tips appreciated.

I just retested ..... It's still so low it barely registers on the test strip .....
Nitrates 20ppm
Nitrites .5 ppm

Is that what it is supposed to be?

Test strips are generally not reliable... dunno if you can get it in Aus but a good kit to get is the API Master Freshwater Test kit.

If the strips are right, you couldn't go wrong with a PWC. Nitrites are a little high at .5ppm and nitrates at 20ppm is about as high as it should get. Is ammonia 0ppm?

Uh yep Ammonia tests at 0.
So even .5 is high for Nitrites?