cloudy water

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aring

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Can someone please give me some advice? My tank water is cloudy and the water clarity im using isnt helping...what else can i do?

Can someone please give me some advice? My tank water is cloudy and the water clarity im using isnt helping...what else can i do?

Others more experienced than I can probably help, but I experienced a bacterial bloom which I thought would NEVER clear up when I changed out both of my filter mediums on a 5 gal Chi tank as a total newbie. I learned my lesson. Have you been doing some major housecleaning in your tank?

I did a water change 2 weeks ago and again today....30% change,and wiped glass inside tank....i also double filter my tank and only have 3 fish

Cloudy Tank Water

Hello aring...

The water in my tank was cloudy for the first 6 months or so and there were two reasons: I was vacuuming the gravel and using some cheap filter media that came with my filtration equipment. Within a couple of water changes of no longer vacuuming and disturbing the substrate and using a heavy poly fiber in the filters, my water cleared and has been crystal clear since.

B

How long ago did you set up the tank along with Mumma's questions? New tanks often go through a quick bacterial bloom which generally clears on its own. Stop using the clairifiers as the chemicals are not good for the fish or tank. When you do a WC does the water almost immediately cloud back up? If so this indicates a bacterial bloom.