Co2 injection is 12 bbs is this too high

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rstampa

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 65 gal planted fish tank. CO2 injection system. I'm running 12 bbs in my tank. My starting PH is 7.2 and after 8 hrs of running the PH is 7.0. My KD is 4. That means I'm only getting 12 PPM of CO2. I don't know why the PH doesn't go down. I know it should be higher but with out open my bubble counter wide open, how can I achieve a 22 + CO2 PPM? What bbs should I be setting?

Do you have a leak? Because at 12bps you should have more co2 I believe, but I'm not an expert. That would be a possibility with your ph issue.

What is your pressure at? You most likely have a leak. Also what are you using to get the co2 in tank? Diffuser? Reactor? Atomizer? Also if you have a lot of surface movement that will cause co2 off gassing depending on how much movement depends on how much co2 is lost.

No leaks. I checked all connections using the soap and water check. Everything is tight.
I am using a 5lb co2 tank with a 2 gauge reactor and diffusing through my 350 gph powerhead.
I don't believe the surface is too rapid. The water surface has just a small simmer.

Last edited:
A lot of surface movement? What tubing are you using? How are you getting co2 in the tank?? Something is not right.

The way you get co2 in the tank makes a big difference how much bps you may need. So what do you use??

I am using a 5lb co2 pressured tank with a 2 gauge reactor and diffusing through my 350 gph powerhead.

Any bubbles you see is not diffused co2 meaning lost co2. Why a diffuser or atomizer or reactor are best as the diffusion will be better. Would explain why so little co2 in aquarium. Most is getting lost.

I'm assuming you mean bubbles per second (bps) instead of bbs.