Confused

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Marinemammalover

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am currently fish-in cycling a 20 gallon tank with six long-finned zebra danios.... I am new to keeping fish but I understand the nitrogen cycle and what should happen.

I'm confused because I have had these fish since Sunday and the tank has been running since Saturday. I added a liquid bacteria starter called microbe lift. I am confused because my ammonia levels haven't risen at all yet... They are still at zero. However my nitrite levels were high because they were high in my tap water (around 2.0) but have fallen to around 0-0.5. Is this normal? I have been testing everyday. Please help....

Hi there WELCOME!!

They might not rise right away becuase it will take a while for the ammonia to build up from a small amount of fish. May I ask what type of test kit you have? The strips are lousy and the only true reading are with a liquid test kit. Such as API Master. When was your last water change?

Check out JetaJockey's page here! This is what I am doing now.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/fishin-cycling-step-dark-side/

Oceangirl said:
They might not rise right away becuase it will take a while for the ammonia to build up from a small amount of fish. May I ask what type of test kit you have? The strips are lousy and the only true reading are with a liquid test kit. Such as API Master. When was your last water change?

Check out JetaJockey's page here! This is what I am doing now.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/fishin-cycling-step-dark-side/

I have test strips for everything but the ammonia which is an API liquid kit. My last water change was today because I was trying to raise the pH from 6.4 to seven.

Andrew McFadden said:
If you added bacteria and its doing its job it may not happen. Do you have trates?