established tank w/ very high ammonia

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bugabugabuga

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm a newbie freshwater tank owner. I inherited an established tank from a friend. They didn't care for the tank properly and therefore didn't teach me proper tank maintenance. I made the mistake of partial water change and filter cartridge change at the same time, also I ran tap water into the filter pump. This was 2 1/2 weeks ago. Now I know all of this was a big no-no but too late. My fish are still alive(?!) Ammonia=8 nitrate=20 ph=6.6 nitrite=2. Ammonia may be higher but 8 is the highest # on the test card. I've done partial water change w/ bottled water everyday for the 1st week,(no change in ammo level), added ammo-block, added stress coat and stress zyme.Tank=20 gallons. There is 1-1 1/2 in. of gravel, a penguin bio-wheel pump/filter thing, I also added a water heater at the time of the initial water change. I also added at the same time some fake water plants (1 large, 3 small), 1 small drift wood, 1 large grotto style decor. I have 3 angel fish(about 3 in. long ea), 5 gourami's and 2 tetras. What do I do to lower the levels? And how do I use the ammo-carb filter stuff? Do I put it straight into the pump or what? Will it help?

Heya man, this is a pretty common mistake, so don't sweat it. First off, adding that much chlorine to the tank probably killed a good portion of your bacteria culture, which is a no no. Your nitrates aren't off the scale yet, so what you need to do is quite doing water changed and let it run it's cycle and regrow the bacteria. In an already established tank this shouldn't take long, and if you have another place to shove the angels in the meantime this wouldn't hurt as they tend to be somewhat fragile IME.