Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-08-2003, 10:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LA/USA
Posts: 25
Send a message via MSN to Mr.Fish
Fishless Cycling Problem

Here is the other problem I have been suffering for about a week now .I went to the local drug store to get some ammonium chloride(powder) to cycle my tank and I have been testing for ammonia sice day 1 and its 0 ppm.How come?I added aout 7 table/spoon with no ammonia in the tank?
I tryed diffrent test kits with same result.What am I doing wrong?
__________________

__________________
Mr.Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 10:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,536
Hiya Mr.Fish and welcome to Aquariumadvice

Interesting.

Ammonium chloride SHOULD work. Since its not, try picking up a bottle of ammonia from the supermarket (make sure its PLAIN ammonia, not sudsy or one with any sort of additives); add around 3-5 drops per 10g. Maybe that will make a difference.

More questions:

What else are you adding to the tank? What are you using to treat the water, or are you adding anything at all?

Are you using any bacterial starter (Bio-Spira, Cycle, squeezings/gravel from a mature tank, etc).

Have you tested for nitrites, nitrates yet? If so, are there any readings?

And even tho you've tried a coupla diff tests, bring a sample to a lfs and have them check too. They may give you some flack for doing a fishless cycle (many lfs have a prob with it; means they aren't selling fish yet I guess *grin*), but don't let it bug you.
__________________

__________________
aka Cycling Guru and the Ich Slayer

*glares at Terry and QTOFFER*

Card carrying member of FTAS & GCAS.
Allivymar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 08:43 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leytonstone, London
Posts: 231
I previously posted the below reply at http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewto...474&highlight=
Quote:
Alternatively, use starter fishes to cycle your tank. Starter fishes are basically hardy cheap beginner fishes like the zebra Danio and mollies. Throw a few of these fishes into your tank and let nature take over.

The fishes waste will cause bacteria that feeds on the waste to flourish in your tank in time. To prevent your fishes being stressed out by excess ammonia caused by its own waste, do daily 20% water changes.

In time the natural balance between the waste produced by your fishes and the bacteria in your tank will be established. This will take about 3 weeks. After this time, you may add a few more fishes.
__________________
old signature here
my fish tank
LondonGman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 10:30 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LA/USA
Posts: 25
Send a message via MSN to Mr.Fish
I have plants in there and I did not treat the water.Am using Fluval with carbon and bio media(I will replace the fluval with power filter cause its realy hard to work with).Am very worry cause I have been dosing ammonium chloride in large quantity with no effect at all ???Where did it go?would the fish be ok?
Nitrite is 0
__________________
Mr.Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 11:46 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 582
If you have a lot of plants in the tank (particularly if you have fast growing plants like hornwort), that's why you are detecting no ammonia--the plants are consuming it.

If you want to do a fishless cycle, you should do it with no plants in the tank. However, since you've got the plants in there already, I'd suggest doing a 50% water change and add a few starter fish.

Plants really slow down the cycling process (I've yet to have a trace of measurable ammonia in my 30 gallon planted tank, and its been up for about 3 1/2 months). This isn't a bad thing as its safer for the fish. However, you have to monitor your water parameters for a very long time while the tank gets established.
__________________
Getting back into the hobby... restocking a 55 Gallon tank with peacock cichlids (currently housing 2 synodontis petricolas). Planning a complete overhaul of my 30 Gallon Oceanic Cube (currently housing a bristlenose pleco and a praecox rainbow).
Madame_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 12:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LA/USA
Posts: 25
Send a message via MSN to Mr.Fish
8O I have about 12 pieces
,and am going to move them to day and add some ammonium chloride to see how it goes?
__________________
Mr.Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 06:25 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LA/USA
Posts: 25
Send a message via MSN to Mr.Fish
After I placed the plants into the other tank and add MORE ammonium chloride still 0. I think I will go to the pet store and get some mollies.How many?Is it ok if I raise the temp to 86F to kill the white spot that am sure they already have it?Would that effect the bacteria?
__________________
Mr.Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 06:47 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: seattle
Posts: 437
Before you add fish...you might want to do a great big water change, and use a dechlorinator.

Not sure where the ammonia is going if the plants are gone, but even if you had healthy bacterial colonies, you'd still have the chlorine in the tank from the ammonium chloride, which can make your fish pretty sick.
__________________
sweetsuvvyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 07:15 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,536
Do not buy fish that you know are sick. They would be stressed enough being moved around from tank to tank; you are taking a big chance by buying fish that are not obviously healthy and its likely they wouldn't survive.

And I would suggest, if you can find it, purchasing some Bio-Spira, doing a BIG water change (at least 50%), adding treated conditioned water and adding fish. I have no idea why the ammoniun chloride isn't working, is why I suggested, if you were going to continue a fishless cycle, picking up some pure ammonia from the market and going with that. It sounds to me tho, that you're not willing to wait, hence the Bio-Spira suggestion.

Oh, and raising temps will not affect the nitrifying bacterial colonies.
__________________
aka Cycling Guru and the Ich Slayer

*glares at Terry and QTOFFER*

Card carrying member of FTAS & GCAS.
Allivymar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 11:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LA/USA
Posts: 25
Send a message via MSN to Mr.Fish
Here is what I have done :
Clean every thing tank,gravel,etc and I got 15gal as QT .I will start all over(I think its much better)and I WILL wait as long as it takes I will try using ammonia as you suggest but I will try it first in my QT to make sure its working.Wich me luck
__________________
Mr.Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 11:53 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,536
*grin*

Good luck and do keep us posted!
__________________
aka Cycling Guru and the Ich Slayer

*glares at Terry and QTOFFER*

Card carrying member of FTAS & GCAS.
Allivymar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 01:12 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LA/USA
Posts: 25
Send a message via MSN to Mr.Fish
Hey guys.Would this ammonia souliotion effect the ph????the ph is way too high more then 9.0?
__________________

__________________
Mr.Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, fishless, fishless cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fishless cycling? goldfishlover101 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 07-30-2009 01:02 AM
Fishless cycling black udder Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-17-2007 05:48 PM
Cycling the fishless way Danio35 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 25 01-09-2005 01:33 PM
Fishless cycling... needs help....again melissa1977 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 08-31-2004 03:19 PM
Fishless Cycling chriznat20@msn. Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 05-12-2003 01:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.