Gravel or sand?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

OceanDragon1

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there!
Long story short im about to upgrade to a new tank (about 350 litre/ 90 gallon)
and Ive considering whether it would be worth upgrading to sand over gravel.

I have zero experience with sand so i need a lil help here.

Im not too bothered about which looks prettier more whats more comfortable for my fish, more specifically my bottom dwellers. Also ignoring whats best for plants here.

Fish that will be in said tank; 5 danios, 4 black widow tetras, 2 tiger barbs, 5 platys, 4 corries, 4 clown loach, 2 yoyo/pakistani loach, 4 congo frogs and a black ghost knife fish (only about 6" atm). Note; these fish have all been happy tank mates for years and im well aware of their eventual sizes, typical temperament, group sizes etc :)
Ive come across a lot of mixed information on sand vs gravel and want to see what people have learned from personal experience. Thank you for all your help!!! :fish2:

Welcome to the forum! From what I have gathered, sand is far better for your corries, as it's far easier on their barbels as opposed to gravel which can get rough on them. I'm getting a few myself, and have recently made the change to sand from gravel. :)

Side note, show us some pictures when you can! :) We feed our addictions through photos. LOL :D

as carriwin said,sand is the best choice for corydoras,i swap from gravel to sand over a year ago and wouldn't go back to gravel again.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Sand is better for basically anything if you do it right. It may make all the difference for your cories and loaches. Could be the difference between life and death.

-->Max