help - white noise making my mood black

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Forgot

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I put together a 29gal setup. I've been doing fishless cycling for many months. The trouble is the noise. I got a hanging bio wheel filter setup, because everyone said that it was best. But, the noise of it drives me crazy. I think part of the trouble is that the room's walls are angled and the sound has an echoing effect. I get tired of the noise, turn off the filter for awhile, and lose ground on the cycle.

Can anyone recommend a super-duper quiet filter setup?

Or are there fish that can survive/thrive without a filter setup? I know I wouldn't be able to do water changes more than once a week. Are there any types of fish that would be happy in an environment like that? Goldfish, bettas?

thanks!

i have a neptune power filter and it doesn't make a sound. but i cheat and fill the water level all the way up to the filter so that the water doesn't make noise splashing into the tank. plus it was only $15! yours might cost more since my tank is only a 10gal though. hope this helps! :D

I assume a white noise generator is NOT on your Xmas list. :wink:

If you're willing to give it a try, you will most likely get used to the noise as your brain learns to block it out. I have a HOB, an air pump, a large HEPA air purifier, and a fan-driven humidifier running in my bedroom. I also live in a congested urban area. Amazingly, I really don't notice all this background noise anymore.

You could try filling the tank more, so the water doesn't splash. Also, you could tru attaching a piece of aquarium filter foam to the HOB return, so the water runs down it, instead of splashing.