I found a fishbowl at work...what to do ;)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Allivymar

Aquarium Advice Addict
Heh, I came across a 1.5-2g glass fish bowl at work, and decided I NEEEEED a fish there as well. Its one of those with 2 flat sides and 2 rounded; kinda looks like this without the net and other bits: http://www.petsmart.com/images/product/large/in603340.jpg. Would make a lovely Betta bowl! But I have some minor concerns.

I work in a school; so theres no one around over the weekend. I'm thinking I'd be more comfortable with a filter as for 2 days theres no one available to water change (although the lil guy will likely come home with me for long school vacations). Do they make a filter that would fit, and yet not overwhelm a Betta, for a tank like that? The area on the bottom is pretty damn small for an "in tank" filter; and obviously an HOB wouldn't work. I do have a Fluval 1+ that would fit in terms of space, but don't know if the outflow right in the middle of the tank (the fluval is kinda tall) would be too much for a calm water lil guy like a Betta.

Thanx :)

Thats a classic Goldfish Bowl, atleast thats what it sounds like..

And just bring the Betta home with you over the weekends! Shouldn't be to hard to find a plastic lid that would fit over the top.

Besides, youd' hvae to worry about feeding him to over the weekend.

No way LOL with my luck the bowl would somehow tip! The thought of bringing him home for longer vacations already gives me a pain LOL Although for that he would into a small container (I live 15 mins from work) and stay in my cycled QT tank for the duration.

And no worries bout feeding him over the weekend; 2 days without food won't starve a fish :)

Yeah, but.. it won't kill a human either, but would you want to go two days without eating?