Mickey Mouse Platy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

preciousmoments

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
HI everyone,
I ordered a book on platies but it hasn't arrived yet and I think my female is going to have fry soon. The problem is I don't know how to tell for sure and I am not entirely sure what to do. We want to raise a few for educational reason for our kids and plan on giving all extras to friends and family when they are big enough. I have purchased a breeding net. Should i set it up and contain my female or should i wait and see what happens. I am very new at this but am interested in learning so i am able to teach my children.
Thanks,
Cristina

I wouldn't put the female in the breeder net yet. If she is not ready to give birth, putting her in too soon will stress her and she could abort the pregnacy. You will tell when she is about to give birth because she will get impossibly huge and will start hiding a lot.

I just let my females give birth in the main tank and when I notice that she is not quite as big around as she was the day before, I will do a water change and vacuum the gravel into a small bucket. I will then slowly scoop out the water and check the bottom of the bucket with a flashlight and scoop out the fry that was sucked up in the gravel vac. I probably don't get all the fry that are in the tank, but I sure do find quite a few of them.

HTH!

Make sure there are plenty of places for her and her fry to hide, like bushy fake or real plants, and do not be surprised if she eats some of them. Good luck!

I have another question as i have never had or seen what the babies look like.
What do they look like? How big will they be? Are they hard to spot with a flashlight like the above suggestion? I really have no idea and my book isn't here yet should be sometime this week.