Nasty freshwater tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

msamsonz28

Aquarium Advice Activist
So here's the story. We have a bowfront corner tank in my office at work. Approx 35g. It has been set up for over a year but is severely neglected. The guys that set it up left and no one has even looked at it in months. There is bright green algae all over the gravel. There is a fish in there and I'm surprised he is even alive. I just topped off the water - it was about 7g low. How should I go about fixing this tank? I know I need to get a test kit for it. But would it be better to empty it and start all over or do you think we can do it another way? I have no experience with freshwater. My plan is to start reading everything I can this weekend and next week get started on making this tank nice again. Where should I begin?

I wouldn't empty it and start all over again. I would do lots of water changes. The fish is very use to that water so I wouldn't recommend changing too much water too fast in this situation. I would do 35% water changes daily. Vacumn the gravel heavily. Scrub the algae off the glass as much as you can. Once the tank receives frequent water changes the phosphates and nitrates will start to go down and the algae problem should get better. Once you get your water testing well you can add an algae eater. Clean out the filter as well. Do the daily pwc until the nitrates get below 40 ppm.

I agree with talloulou. Don't dump it out and start again. Chances are you've probably got a cycled tank on your hands, and it just needs humps of TLC. Get a test kit as soon as you can, and test the water. But for now, partial water changes will get you on the road to recovery.