New Owner please help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Big-j

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey everybody I'm a college student and just purchased my first tanks they are very small 3 and 1.5 gallons but the three gallon tank went extremely cloudy and started to stink all of a sudden. They both have appropriate filters and the fish in both are fine what happened???

Welcome to AA!

First, I'm going to move this to the Getting Started forum.

The cloudiness is likely a bacteria bloom. Please have a read over the article, linked in my signature, about the nitrogen cycle to get an idea of what's going on.

Ok well if it is bacteria what can I do to clear it up? Would adding ghost shrimp help any?

You didn't establish the nitrogen cycle in the tanks before adding the fish.

This is the process that establishes beneficial bacteria in the aquarium that will eliminate ammonia produced by fish waster. It creates a safe water environment for the fish.

The cloudiness is an harmless bacterial bloom common to new aquariums that usually occurs during the cycling process.

Even small tanks need to be cycled before you can safely add fish.

. While your tank is cycling, the wate will produce ammonia and nitrites, which will eventually harm or kill the fish. Even if seem okay now.

If you can, take the fish back to the petstore until the tanks are cycled and read this.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f15/fishless-cycling-for-dummies-103339.html

After you have properly cycled the tanks, read the post on stocking tanks that is at the top of the "getting started" forum.

If you think you must keep the fish, you'll probably need to do 50% PWC (partial water changes) daily until the cycle is established.