Please Help the Newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LillaEst

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there,

First, let me say I am new to the world of aquariums so be gentle.

I have the following setup:

4 foot (90cm (L) 45cm (H) and 30cm (W) tank which brings the volume to 120L or 31-32 US Gallons.

I have the following in it:

6 - 7 kg of gravel
2 x real plants
2 x medium lava rocks
1 x 500 W heater
1 x HJ 952 Submersible Pump
1 x Medium Air Stone
1 Large Shell

(I had a smaller tank but due to the "lack of honesty" from the pets hop bought fish that needed their space so I got everything bigger)

The "usable" water mass is about 95 L (25 US Gallons).

I have the following fish:

1x silver dollar (2.5cm high)
1x sailfin molly (1cm high)
2 x dalmation mollies (1cm high)
2x rio tetras (1.5 cm high)
1x Plecto
2x Angelfish (2cm max with fins)

Is this overkill, enough or can I add more?

I really want to make sure that I put the safety of my fish first, I had a struggle with their tempers but that's sorted now that they are in a bigger tank etc.

Last edited:
I would say that this is definitely enough. The pleco will make a mess, so be prepared to do some weekly water changes! :)

Sent per three-eyed raven..

Thanks

Hi there,

Thanks so much for the reply.

Will definitely not add more fish.

(PS - Thanks for being nice)

Please research all your fish. Some need larger tanks ?

Silver Dollars tend to eat many live plants...but feeding greens and veggies helps. They like to be in groups. I doubt you'd have room for three or more 6" fish. http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=830+836+2522&pcatid=2522. There are a few species called Silver Dollar...some get larger.

Common Plecos can hit 12-24". They need huge tanks and big filters.