Worried about my Clown Loaches

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Luvruben

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi
I joined this site about 2 years ago, and at the time I got so tied up with other things that it was the last time I visited too.. Time to stop by!
I do have a question... I am fairly new to Clown Loaches. I have a small group of six with intentions of adding a seventh. I have had them approximately 3-4 weeks.
The first week or so I kept them in a smaller quarantine tank while I repaired a small chip in the acrylic on the bigger tank they would be going to.
In the smaller tank they seemed so happy and active, never being still. Always swimming, playing.
I moved them to the bigger tank and now I never see them. Which sounds like it is a common complaint about these guys, lol..I know they do like to hide, my concern is that I never see them eating and their color is not as bright as it should be.
I put food in for them but often clean out most of it later because they have not touched it. And their faded color seems to suggest that they are stressed?
Although the tank is new to them, the filters have been running for years on my Oscar tanks and part of the substrate is from the Oscar tanks. I do test the water to make sure the filters are still cycled, and the levels are 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, usually < 20 nitrate.
It is an 8 foot X 2 foot 200 gallon tank, with good canister filters and I added 2 power heads to create a current, which they seemed to love in the smaller tank. Low level light, sand substrate, places to hide.. They are the only fish that will be in this tank, so I know it is not other fish stressing them out.. Everything seemed like it should be in order..
Am I worrying about nothing? Im nervous I think because I do not have much experience with these guys...and I hate it that I dont see them eating..