Coralline tiurning white. Why?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

erichm20

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey all,

I noticed small spots before now the white is spreading. Here's a pic.

Ive read that it could mean mag is low but I've never done anything for mag and I don't have a test kit for it (ordering). One thing that has changed is one of my blue bulbs went out so I put in another white until I replace it. So now there are 3 white and 1 blue t5 could the increase in lighting bleach it?

Another thing I've been doing is dosing ca and alk for about 2 months (coralline been growing like crazy since starting)

Ph 8.2. Ammo 0 no2 0 no3 5 po4 .10 ca 380 dkh 9 temp 79 sg 1.024

Thanks!

Attachments

• image-881016811.jpg
    image-881016811.jpg
    195.2 KB · Views: 97
Could certainly be magnesium. In tanks where water changes aren't regular strontium can be an issue also. Probably mag.

Ok good to know. I have been doing 5 Gallon water changes for 1.5 months now to get the nitrates and phosphates down. I will get the kit to test for mag. Now if the magnesium is low how do I keep it up? supplements?

On another note, my sand bed is kind of shallow, 40 lbs so I was thinking of adding another 20 lbs or so. Can you just add more sand or will this disrupt the water chemistry?

Thanks!

^Yups. Regular supplements added slowly over time will correct the levels if it's needed.

To add sand just rinse it out well (unless it's live) then turn off all the pumps and add it in very gently one cup at a time directly to the bottom. With each cup of sand allow it to fill with tank water each time before going down into the tank with it. Takes time, as does everything good that happens in a reef. :)