Cycle stalled, what to do next?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Leeoc91

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all, I'm new to fish keeping and I bought a 28 Gallon (105L) saltwater tank.

I'm really finding it hard to complete a fishless cycle. I started off by 'ghost' feeding the tank every day with food but I think I put way too much in as it wasn't decomposing so I decided to stop that and did a full water change & tank clean.

Then I purchased household ammonia which I miscalculated and put in too much so I did an 80% water change which got the levels up to 5ppm which is what most people seemed to recommend online. It's been 2 months now and the ammonia level is the same with nitrate at 0.5ppm and nitrate 0ppm.

I bought API Quick Start and added that to the tank according to the instructions but that didn't have any effect on any of the levels.

I'm not sure what I should do next, any advice by more experienced members would be appreciated! :)

Thanks!

What is your pH? Low pH can stall a cycle.

5ppm ammonia is a little high. 4ppm would be better, but below 6ppm shouldnt be an issue. You could try a 20% water change to bring it down a little.

What is the temperature? 28c/82.5f is the ideal for growing the beneficial bacteria.

Are you sure you used water conditioner when you filled the tank? Chlorine will kill off the beneficial bacteria.

Also, biological booster like quick start are hit and miss. If they arent stored and transported in temperature controlled conditions the bacteria can be killed off in the bottle and will have no effect. Try a different brand/supplier?

Also, saltwater. I've never done saltwater, but understand it takes longer than freshwater. There might be other things a saltwater person can advise better, or tell you im wrong in a saltwater environment.