Need tank switching advise

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Erok7620

Aquarium Advice Activist
First of all hello! This is my first post even though ive been hanging out here for months. i started my first tank (28g SW) about 4 months ago and since then I got so addicted I now have an empty 90g in my living room. I was hoping to gain some insight on changing over the tanks. I would like to use my current LS and LR in addition to new. Will I be OK putting my Fish (1clown, 2 Chromis, 1 Damsel) and inverts (emerald, SS star, Anenome, flame scallop, hermits and snails) in containers while I do the switch? What precautions should I take. Any advise would be helpful. Im still very new at this.
Thanks in advance.

Hi and welcome !
First off why not leave them in thier tank whilst you wait for your new one to cycle?
Other wise you could use a bin to hold them .... Be sure to keep them in filtered water with new carbon if you move them it prevents them from gill burn from amonia .... Take some sand from your current tank and use it to seed your tank .... cycle it as you would a new tank ....then add your fish to your new tank once cycled and test indicate ....
Also with an anenome and flame scallop they need very stable established tanks that have been up more than 4 months and good lighting ....scallops have poor surviaval rates in the home aquarium...Just remember to take it slow you will need to cycle out your new tank the cycle should be shorter if you use cured rock but there will be some die off that will cause a cycle ... it may be a bit shorter tho around 2-4 weeks for it if you use cured .Then you could move your fish and LR over with out issue .