Substrate question. live sand?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ace1uno_00

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm new to the marine scene.
I was wondering which substrate to use?
Live sand or crushed coral? I know i want to do a reef tank.
And if i use regular playground sand will it eventualy turn into live sand? can i do a mix?
or will the playground sand just stay regular sand?
I dont get it....

For SW, I would only use sand regardless if it is for a coral or fowlr setup. I would avoid using CC. You can the sand from HD if you can find it, but make sure it is the right stuff. I just use aragomax fine sand, which you can get at any online or lfs.
As far as will it turn live or not - you can get lr to cycle the tank, or cycle your tank with a piece of raw shrimp in there and it will help create the bacteria needed to make it "live". HTH

Mike

Okay. So, after the cycle is complete the regular sand will turn live?
The sand i want to use, that is not live, is basalite playsand.
So say if i do a 50/50 mix of live sand and regular sand it will turn the regular sand into live sand after time?

You don't have to use live sand. You can use regular aragomax sand along with the playsand. LR will help cycle the tank for you, or you can use raw shrimp from the grocery store to get it started.
Make sure the playsand is the right stuff though. A lot of people use vinegar as a test to make sure it fizzes, which is what you want. If it doesn't fizz, you don't want it.

Mike

Aragomax is the brand of sand, and Aragonite is the actual type. I would go with the fine sugar grain size.

Sweet! the play sand i have is aragonite type!
So that means that i can do 50% play sand and 50% live sand and then over time the play sand will turn live.
I will start my tank with a ton of fiji live rock and that aragomax sand.
Thanks for all your help!