Virgin Saltwater Fanatic!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

carlredding

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi Guys, as you have probably realised from the Subject, I am "the new guy". I have never had the pleasure of running my own saltwater tank. I have been keeping freshwater fish for about 8 years but always wanted to make the progression.

I am being given an already established saltwater tank. It is a Fluval Venezia 190l tank, it has a Fluval external filter and a protein skimmer.

The tank is mostly full of live rock, it has a few corals, a male and female clownfish, a lemon tang and a few other critters which I didn't get to see.

I am really after some advice as to what is the best way to go about setting up the tank after transporting it. I spoke to a local fish shop and they told me that it will be just like starting all over again and I might lose my fish and live rock in the process, which I obviously don't want to happen. Is this accurate advice? Will I have to start all over? As I know the tank has been set up and running well for 5 years, so it is very well matured.

Any help and advice would be hugely appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to read this guys.

If u transport everything properly and quickly u shouldn't have to start all over. Remove all fish and corals put the in plactic bags or containers. Then remove all the rocks and put them in 5 gallon buckets with some tank water in them to keep them wet. Then remove most the water and leave the sand in the bottom of the tank with a little bit of water In it and move the tank to the new home and set it all up if u don't let any of the rocks or sand dry out u should not need to start over

Good luck and welcome to the AA