Water chemistry for reef tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Moneymike1

Aquarium Advice Activist
Yes I'm a newbie to the salt world and want to start doing my research on reef requirement before purchasing any corals. What water chemistry is needed before purchasing corals? What are your parameters for your reef tanks?

Currently mine are

NH3------------->0
NO2------------->0
NO3------------->0
Ca -------------->420
Ph--------------->8.1

My tank is currently a FOWLR and just don't know when to add corals. What other additives do I need to purchase and what brands do you use?

Yes I'm a newbie to the salt world and want to start doing my research on reef requirement before purchasing any corals. What water chemistry is needed before purchasing corals? What are your parameters for your reef tanks?

Currently mine are

NH3------------->0
NO2------------->0
NO3------------->0
Ca -------------->420
Ph--------------->8.1

My tank is currently a FOWLR and just don't know when to add corals. What other additives do I need to purchase and what brands do you use?

Parameters are not as important as stability. As long as you are within guidelines you shouldnt have problems.

As for additives you will often find that the best tanks dont use any or very few. Most good commercial salt brands contain all thats need for a thriving reef. Calcium, alk, and magnesium are the 3 major elements needed for coral growth. Usually keeping these parameters stable is only a challenge in tanks heavily loaded with hard corals. In those cases, calcium, alk, and mag supplements may be needed to maintain levels.

Hope this helps. Your probably more than ready for a few starter corals.