Add sand to established tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jadedrain_06

Aquarium Advice Regular
My 10 gallon has finished cycling and I have not added any fish yet. I am a newbie and made I think a common mistake of not researching before I bought my tank and decor. I have been bouncing back and forth about fish I would like to add and I would really like salt and pepper corries. They like sand so I was wanting to replace half of my gravel with sand. I figured since it is only half I wouldn't lose all the bacteria in the gravel. Is there any suggestions or advice about the process or a brand? On another note would 4-6 (Male Guppies or Endler's Livebearers), 5 hatchet fish, 4 salt and pepper cories be good for a 10 gallon tank? I am not trying to crowd at all but found a website that said this would be a good mix. Really wanted some other opinions on this. I am not going to add them all at once obviously but just want a plan so I know I am getting the right fish for my long term goal. Thanks!

it does not matter about bacteria in gravel. it is the bacteria in the filter that matters.
removing all the gravel is fine and makes cleaning easier and the tank better looking imo
u can use pool filter sand or play sand as a cheap alternative, but i am having issues with my play sand and do not reccomend it. PFS is supposed to be much better.
black blasting sand looks amazing and would make the cories look extra interesting. hatchets need much more tank space than that tank, and would likely chase or even kill the guppies.