Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-27-2022, 03:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Posts: 2
Adding Fish to Cycled Tank

My fish tank is finally cycled and I'm ready to add fish. My ammonia is 0ppm, Nitrite is 0ppm and Nitrate is 10ppm (API master test kit). I already have an established 20 gallon tank with fish in it that I want to transfer to the newly cycled tank. My question is how many fish at a time should I add since I have schooling fish. The new tank is 40 gallons. I have the following fish in the 20 gallon.

6 White skirt tetras
4 Otocinclus catfish
12 Neon tetras

__________________
Dream157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2022, 04:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 4,423
How much ammonia was you dosing and how quickly did that ammonia cycle out?
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2022, 06:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 6,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dream157 View Post
My fish tank is finally cycled and I'm ready to add fish. My ammonia is 0ppm, Nitrite is 0ppm and Nitrate is 10ppm (API master test kit). I already have an established 20 gallon tank with fish in it that I want to transfer to the newly cycled tank. My question is how many fish at a time should I add since I have schooling fish. The new tank is 40 gallons. I have the following fish in the 20 gallon.

6 White skirt tetras
4 Otocinclus catfish
12 Neon tetras
Theoretically, if you move all the fish and filtering materials ( filter, pads, socks, etc) to the new tank, there should be no " recycling" of the aquarium. It's just like having the 20 only it's in the 40. From there, you can give it a few weeks for the nitrfying bacteria to also establish before removing the older filtering things if that is what you want to do. At that point, you still want to add new fish slowly. Always check ammonia levels when adding new fish to make sure you haven't stressed the system. Make sure you have something like PRIME at hand so that if you did stress the system, you can detoxify the ammonia until your bacteria bed catches up.
(An FYI: Nitrifying bacteria replicate rather quickly so the process should take more than a day or two . )
Hope this helps
__________________
Andy Sager is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, fish, led, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycled tank no longer cycled TracyRee Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-05-2018 10:50 PM
Cycled tank Un cycled?? HAnnAH10gal Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 12-30-2014 09:16 PM
If I Put a fish in a non cycled 2.5 gallon tank, will it eventually be cycled? Bettafanatic Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 08-21-2011 09:13 PM
Adding ammonia to a cycled tank when fish are not present An t-iasg Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-15-2007 10:54 AM
Adding what number of fish to a cycled tank? Brodie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 07-12-2005 05:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.