Ammonia Help Required

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Princess1982

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi All

I am relatively new to fish keeping. Started about a year ago by mistake! I rescued a lovely common goldfish from a friend who insisted on keeping it in a bowl so I thought I would give it a better home in a 54 litre Aquarium I was left by a friend. I then added 3 new fish and this is when I became aware of how difficult fish keeping can be! Noone told me anything about cycling a tank or about the pitfalls for a beginner. After experiencing a few problems I got online and started reading forums and realised I had basically done everything wrong! :banghead: Thankfully I didn't lose any fish.

But anyway, the problem I am having now is that I upgraded to a larger tank (180 litre Fluval) and I seem to be struggling with the cycle all over again. I have had it nearly 2 months and added the existing tank water and old filter to the new tank to help the cycle as advised by my LFS. I also added a larger much more powerful filter suited to my new tank. Regretably, I had also aquired a couple more 1 inch fish so thought I would add them a week later as everything seemed to be going OK with the new tank. But now the ammonia has risen and I can't seem to get it down. I do a 10% water change every couple of days like I did when I cycled my old tank and have reduced the feeding of my fish. But I cannot get the ammonia less than 0.25ppm and I have been doing this for nearly 2 months now. I used to use nutrafin cycle but had been told that it actually hinders the tank cycle so I stopped using it. What is the best thing to do to get the ammonia level down once and for all?

I have just tested my water and the readings are as follows:

Nitrate - 20ppm
Nitrite - 0ppm
Ammonia - 0.25ppm
High Range PH - 8

Many thanks in advance for your help!!