Aquarium HELP

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Reno

Aquarium Advice Newbie
We have bought a 20 gallon to step up from a 10 gallon. I have been messing with this thing for over a 2 months now and readings keep coming back for water with
Ammonia 1ppm
Nitrite 1ppm
Nitrate 40-80 ppm
Ph 6.6
Temp 78 degrees
Can someone help me get the numbers correct? What else can I add?

Two months is a long time. Just a few thoughts:

Was/is the ten gallon cycled? If so, and if you don't plan to use it anymore, simply transfer the old filter media into the new filter. Alternatively, you can move the entire old filter onto the new tank and run it alongside the new filter for a few weeks until the new filter fully colonizes with bacteria. If you are using the ten gallon for something else, just move some of the media over and monitor both tanks/do partial water changes as necessary.

Other thoughts:

1. What test kit are you using, and are you sure it is not out of date?

2. Have you tried testing your tap water to see how it compares?

3. Hold a white card up behind the test tube to make sure you are reading the color accurately. Sounds silly, but sometimes people misread it.

4. Have you been cleaning your filter? You do not want to do that. When you do your partial water changes, make sure that you are not removing or rinsing filter media in tap water. You want to keep the beneficial bacteria that live there.