Cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dom11

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm getting a tank soon and I am pretty certain how to cycle the tank but so many websites say different things such as, cycle for 48 hours and some say a week. What else should I add other than water conditioner? Or is that pretty much it for chemicals?

I am very new to this which means I've read a lot but don't know much, so take with a grain of (aquarium safe) salt....

First, read the topics in the sticky at the top of this forum.

Decide on fishless vs. fish-in. You decide; it's a bit of a religious thing on the internet. But if fish-in, be sure you get very hardy fish. I did fish-in, and had no issues, and no obvious stress on the fish, but many, many fish die during a cycle (from what I read).

Mine (a 45g tank) took a solid month to cycle. That's with starter bacteria as well. From my reading I don't believe any of these instant cycle claims. It's like instant garden -- you can plant from seeds (no fancy safe-start cycle addon) or you can plant from small shoots. Both get a garden, one a bit quicker, but both have to wait for growth; one is a slight head start.

The bigger the tank the longer the process but the less erratic it is likely to be (really sharp spikes).

Water changes slow down the cycle.

If fishless cycle do not change water during (you'll get arguments on this also).

If fish-in cycle, only change water if the ammonia or nitrites get high enough to seriously endanger the fish. Reconsider this advice in a very small tank, though.

Be patient. I wasn't (hence I did fish-in before even learning the alternative, though in retrospect and reading I'm not convinced fish-in is bad). It takes a lot longer than any marketing claim.