Fishless cycling question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nonniecita

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone,

I'm new to fishless cycling. So far, I've set up the tank, (29 gal) added a few plants from the lfs, added Prime dechlorinator, have the filter and heater going. I'm just wondering if I should add the water that came with the plants?

Thanks so much

Nah, there is really not much if any bacteria in the water. It's really only on surfaces.

Start dosing your ammonia and get your cycle going! Do you need the links? They are in the sticky at the top of the forum.

Nah, there is really not much if any bacteria in the water. It's really only on surfaces.

Start dosing your ammonia and get your cycle going! Do you need the links? They are in the sticky at the top of the forum.

That's what I was thinking...thanks!

I have the fishless cycling link, it has helped a lot!

I need to add the ammonia and am not sure how much to add. I have a 29 gallon tank (it is filled almost to the top, maybe an inch or so less). How much ammonia should I add to achieve 4ppm?

Thanks again!

That can vary, im going to guess around 5mil as my 40g took 7 mil to dose to 4ppm. Try dosing 3mil, wait 30 minutes and test with your liquid test kit. If your short add some more.

Ugh. I added 1 teaspoon and checked 30 minutes later. It is dark green, 8ppm at least. Can I wait and see if it drops? Sorry to ask a million questions...

Apr28 do you have the exact same aquarium size and ammonia as the op? If not her results may be entirely different

Thank you all so much! I went ahead and did a 50% water change last night. I'm getting ready to check the ammonia level in a bit...

Hi everyone!