HELP! My first fishless cycle - I don't think it's going too well!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bangarang

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have recently purchased a 5 gallon Fluval Chi for my desk at my office, in hopes of housing a beta or maybe a couple of guppies. After purchasing, I started reading about the importance of cycling your tank before adding fish. The kit came with Nutrafin Cycle and some water conditioner. I know Cycle isn't exactly popular among fish experts, but I am relatively new to the hobby and decided to use some in my cycling process. I started the process 7 weeks ago, and used pure ammonia to get the cycle going. I've managed to get the ammonia levels down to zero, with a sky high Nitrite level. There are also Nitrates present. I've been sitting on a Nitrite level off my test strip chart (above 10 ppm) for 3 or 4 weeks now. I took to the internet to find out if this was normal. Although I understand the Nitrite portion can last a while, there were several sites that recommended doing a partial water change to get the Nitrites to a readable level. After consideration, I decided to do a 50% water change last week, which temporarily lowered the Nitrite level to about 8 ppm. Within a day, it was right back up to above 10 ppm. So this week I've done two partial water changes and again, it seems to have temporarily lowered the Nitrite level for a few hours only. (by the way, I have been adding ammonia to feed the bacteria, and the levels are dropping overnight).

I am really not sure what to do here...do I keep waiting it out, do more water changes, cut bait and start over?

Also, there is a strong "mineral" smell to the water, and a whitish yellow crust that has formed in the corners of the tank, as well as on the airline tubing, etc. Any idea what it is, and how I should deal with it?