Hi!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Carlyj

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,

I'm new to this and to fish keeping. I had a few goldfish growing up but recently, after alot of research, I decided to set up a tank to keep some small tropical fish (true beginner style!).

My tank has been up and running for 9 days and I introduced 5 male guppies 2 days ago.

All is going well so far and they all seen happy apart from one who has taken to laying on the bottom of the tank. I have read some forums from others who also have this problem and have decided to try a part water change to see if that helps, however, Iam a little concerned as my tank readings were ok on Friday as I had them checked by my local aquatic centre before introducing the fish.

I'm hoping that you can all help me to find some more helpful advice on keeping my little ones happy and healthy!

Did you cycle the tank prior to adding the fish? Just letting the tank sit for 7 days if you didn't really did nothing. No difference between 7 days and 30 minutes in that regard.

If it has been 2 days since adding fish, and the tank wasn't cycled, I guarantee you have an ammonia problem already. When cycling a new tank with fish, it requires daily 50%+ water changes to keep ammonia and later nitrite in check. Once the tank is cycled and the nitrogen cycle has taken hold, you can reduce your water changes to weekly, or even every other week or so. Unfortunately for now, it is going to take some work to keep the fish alive.

What is your ammonia testing out at today?

Welcome to AA!

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback!

Unfortunately I didn't know about cycling until today! My local aquatic centre just told me to leave the tank a week before adding fish! Poor advice!!