Moving fish to a new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mitch_Wilson

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there, I'm new to creating an account on the fourms, however I've been reading them all along for advice and questions i had about my tank. But now im here with a bit more specific question.
I have a 20 gallon tank that originally had 2 pictus catfish and a peacock eel in it, yes i know it is to small for any of them however it was the last of these fish my local store had and i knew i had a 30 gallon coming soon. In mid-cycle the tank crashed and i lost both catfish, however the Eel (Jetsam) did make it through. That was about a month ago and I got the 30 gallon 2.5-3 weeks ago I started the 30 gallon cycle by adding raw shrimp (which did work, it just started to smell really quickly). Regaurdless, I added a bacteria suppliment, not sure what kind it was, and the 30 gallon seems to have cycled already. I tested the water two days ago and the reading were
.25 ammonia
2-5 nitrites (almost immpossible to tell the difference on the liquid test)\
approx 80 nitrites
I tested it again early yesterday morning and it was at
0 ammonia
.25 nitrites
alot of nitrates almost 160
so i added another piece of raw shrimp and left it in there until the water tested 5 ammonia
tested again last night before bed and had no ammonia and 4-5 nitrites
this morning there are no nitrites or ammonia in the tank.

What i need to know is if its safe to transfer the Peacock eel to the tank yet or if i should wait because the 20 is still mid cycle, with nitrites spiking every morning and me having to do 25% water changes every day.

Lastly, and sorry for the huge post i figured it might be easier than creating 2-3 seperate posts, I obviously want more fish than just my eel in the 30 gallon. The fish i was thinking were
8-10 harlequin rasboras