Need help with new tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

broyer

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am just getting started with a new tank and am having some troubles.

It seems the water is cloudy most of the time. I have had a neighbor tell me it is a "bacteria bloom" and the the tank is still cycling.

I have read alot about the Nitrogen cycle, but I am not sure of how to determine where I am in the cycle. Unfortunatley I have had some fish die on me, and have had an Ick problem. I am fairly certain the biggest problem I have is water quality. Can anyone share some advice on how to clear up the water, and how to monitor and manage the cycling of the tank? Any advice is greatly appreciated!
:( [/b]

Easy enough.
Get thee to a fish store and buy a test kit. altenatively, your lfs may do testing on the premises. The presence of ammonia and nitrites will tell you how the cycle is going. The best thing, I think, will just be to sit pretty until it settles. Small water changes may help, but make sure that the water you are putting in is not overly chlorinated/chlorimined as Toronto water seems to be these days. Jeff